Ultimate Scoop Five Major Awards

Blues Awards

FEATURE: Missed some of our Blues Awards winners for 2019? Check out our recap!

The ANU Ultimate (Disc) club was the big winner of the 2020 Blues Awards as they scooped five of the major trophies on offer as announced on the ANU Sport Social Media channels during the week.

Callum Sambridge led the way by claiming the Sports Star of the Year Award having been selected for Australia to compete in two international competitions, helping his country to success in the New Zealand Ultimate Championships. Sambridge was honoured with a Full Blue alongside his individual success.

Fellow Ultimate athlete, Holly Halford-Smith, was named Outstanding Athlete with a Disability having also been capped by Australia at a brace of events in 2019, again claiming a Full Blue in the process.

The Ultimate Club’s success didn’t end there however, as they also gathered the Volunteer of the Year, as Madeline Stoove was recognised for her tireless work for the club and the sport, and the Best Team Performance, as the ANU Upstairs team, who won the University Mixed Ultimate Championship, culminating in the club being named Small Club of the Year.

Benjamin Freeman was recognised for his tremendous feats in Ice Swimming claiming the Breakthrough Performance of the Year whilst Marion Halas was credited with the Best Individual Performance of the Year having won a clutch of medals across two national Taekwon-Do meets. 

Errol Gracias’ commitment and dedication to Basketball, particularly his involvement with the Women’s team, saw him named as Coach of the Year while Taekwon-Do star, Henry Dwyer, was named Club Athlete of the Year following a 2019 campaign that saw him place first in two national competitions.

On the club side, the ANUAFC AFL team landed the double of Club of the Year, with the Women’s section taking home the Club Team of the Year following their success as AFL Canberra Community Women’s Grade Premiers. 

Lastly, the ANU Touch Football Club won the Most improved Club of the Year having shown a substantial growth in both their committee number and membership, and Emily Robson (Hockey), Hamish Harding (Rowing), Belinda Wilson (Ultimate Disc), Marine Shmitt (Ultimate Disc) and Matthew Daly (Ultimate Disc) garnered Full Blues.


Breakthrough Performance of the Year: Benjamin Freeman (Ice Swimming)
Best Individual Performance of the Year: Marion Halas (Taekwon-Do)
Best Team Performance of the Year: ANU Upstairs (Ultimate)
Outstanding Athlete with a Disability: Holly Halford-Smith (Ultimate)
Volunteer of the Year: Madeline Stoove (Ultimate)
Coach of the Year: Errol Gracias (Basketball)
Sport Star of the Year: Callum Sambridge (Ultimate)
Club Athlete of the Year: Henry Dwyer (Taekwon-Do)
Club Team of the Year: ANU AFC Women's Team (AFL)
Most improved Club of the Year: ANU Touch Football Club (Touch)
Small Club of the Year: ANU Ultimate Club (Ultimate)
Club of the Year: ANU AFL Club (AFL)
Peter McCullagh Achievement Awards: Lucy Jalland (Hockey), Kelby Pointon (Indoor Hockey), Lily McCormick (Taekwon-Do), Marion Halas (Taekwon-Do)


Full Blues: Emily Robson (Hockey), Benjamin Freeman (Ice Swimming), Hamish Harding (Rowing), Belinda Wilson (Ultimate Disc), Callum Sambridge (Ultimate Disc), Holly Halford-Smith (Ultimate Disc), Marine Shmitt (Ultimate Disc), Matthew Daly (Ultimate Disc)
Half Blues: Doug Horn (Rowing, Maxie Rennie (Rowing), Nick Pettigrew (Rowing), Nikki Greenland (Rowing), Sibylle Lange (Rowing), Vinahara Goonesekera (Rowing), Fiona Foley (Taekwon-Do), Jessica Wu (Taekwon-Do), Keegan Knott (Taekwon-Do), Kitta Michelsen (Taekwon-Do), Sangyeop (Noah) Yim (Taekwon-Do), Sebastian Gu (Taekwon-Do), Shiuh Foong (Taekwon-Do), Maddy Stoove (Ultimate Disc), Miriam Downey (Ultimate Disc), Nic Hodson (Ultimate Disc), Patrick Phillips (Ultimate Disc)